Masthead Image

07-19-2022 - Events, Gear, Technology, News

Sony VENICE 2 Wins Camera Category at Cine Gear Technical Awards

By: SonyCine Team

Sony’s Tatsuhito Tabuchi accepts Cinegear’s Lifetime Technical Achievement Award from Cinegear founder Juliane Grosso and emcee Jay Holben

The Cine Gear Technical Award winners have been announced, and once again, Sony is bringing home the wood. The Cine Gear Technical Awards are the expo’s annual recognition of the products with the best of the industry’s technical advancements that have been introduced since the previous year’s Cine Gear Expo Los Angeles.


The new Sony VENICE 2 motion picture camera is the recipient of the award in the Camera Technology: Cameras category, and Sony Electronics took home Cinegear’s Lifetime Technical Achievement Award as well.


Earlier this year at NAB in Las Vegas, VENICE 2 collected the NAB Product of the Year award.

In the Camera Accessories category, the award was given to Moonlighting Industries (designers: Miko Lazic, Henrik Lander, Oscar Thörn, Jonas Nockert, Andreas Persson, Andreas Wallberg, Mathias Farnebo, Örjan Söderberg, Lars-Olof Berg, and Michel Cardoso Teixeira) for the Moon Smart Focus rangefinder.


In the hotly competitive Optics category, the main award went to Angenieux for the Optimo Primes – Integrated Optical Palette (IOP) designed by Arnaud Esbelin. An Honorable Mention went to ZEISS for their Supreme Prime Radiance lenses.


The Support Technology prize went to Tilta for their Hydra-Arm Mini portable camera crane with an Honorable Mention bestowed upon Motorized Precision (Designers: Sean Brown, Brian Davidson) for their MP-AR motion control robotics tool. In the abundant Lighting Technology category there was a dead heat between Velvet USA for The Velvet Cyc 6 LED cyclorama light and the RuPixels Inc, RuFlex System (designer: Michael Kelly) for interactive lighting.


Post-Production Technology winner was Blackmagic Design for the DaVinci Resolve 18. Diety Microphones picked up the Sound Technology win for their TC-SL1 Wireless Timecode Slate (designer: Andrew Jones).


The Other Technologies category brought in two winners. SmallHD scored for their Vision 24 and Vision 17, 4K HDR Production Monitors. Filmmaking Research Lab (Designers: Lawrence Sher ASC, Alon Ziv, Bodhi Oser, Ethan Young) also took home a win for their ShotDeck filmmaking research website.


The panel of judges for the 2022 Cine Gear Tech Awards included Jeff Siljenberg, Joe Lewis, Joshua Pines, Lawrence Sher, ASC, Sarah Priestnall, Ted Hayash and Peter Santoro.

More Articles