Masthead Image

03-18-2021 - Events, News

ASC Awards Nominations 2021

By: SonyCine Team

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) announced its nominees for feature film, documentary and television cinematography, representing the organization’s picks for the most compelling visual filmmaking over the past 14 months.


Winners will be named during a virtual ceremony live-streamed from the historic ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood. Also presented that evening will be the Board of Governors Award to honoree Sofia Coppola.


Tune in for the 35th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards on April 18 at 12:30pm PDT via American Cinematographer’s Facebook.


Cinematographers who have used Sony VENICE are among the nominees in nearly every category. The complete list of this year’s nominees [bold indicates shot on VENICE] are:


Cherry, above at top of page, The Plot Against America

Feature Film

• Erik Messerschmidt, ASC for Mank
• Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC for The Trial of the Chicago 7
• Joshua James Richards for Nomadland
• Newton Thomas Sigel, ASC for Cherry
• Dariusz Wolski, ASC for News of the World


• Katelin Arizmendi for Swallow
• Aurélien Marra for Two of Us
• Andrey Naydenov for Dear Comrades!

The Spotlight Award recognizes exceptional cinematography in independent, foreign or art-house-type films.


• Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw for The Truffle Hunters
• Egil Håskjold Larsen and Victor Kossakovsky for Gunda
• Gianfranco Rosi for Notturno


Motherland: Fort Salem, “Up is Down”

Motion Picture, Limited Series, or Pilot Made for Television
• Martin Ahlgren, ASC for The Plot Against America, “Part 6”
• Anette Haellmigk for The Great, “The Great”
• Pete Konczal for Fargo, “The Birthplace of Civilization”
• Steven Meizler for The Queen’s Gambit, “End Game”
• Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC for Watchmen, “This Extraordinary Being”


Episode of a One-Hour Television Series – Commercial
• Marshall Adams, ASC for Better Call Saul, “Bagman”
• Carlos Catalán for Killing Eve, “Meetings Have Biscuits”
• François Dagenais, CSC for Project Blue Book, “Area 51”
Jon Joffin, ASC for Motherland: Fort Salem, “Up is Down
• C. Kim Miles, ASC, CSC, MySC for Project Blue Book, “Operation Mainbrace”


The Crown, “Fairytale”

Episode of a One-Hour Television Series – Non-Commercial
• David Franco for Perry Mason “Chapter 2”
• Ken Glassing for Lucifer, “It Never Ends Well for the Chicken”
• Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC, BSC for The Crown, “Fairytale”
• David Greene, ASC, CSC for Impulse, “The Moroi”
• M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “It’s Comedy or Cabbage”
• Fabian Wagner, ASC, BSC for The Crown, “Imbroglio”


Episode of a Half-Hour Television Series
• Ava Berkofsky for Insecure, “Lowkey Lost”
• Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for The Mandalorian, “Chapter 1: The Mandalorian”
• Baz Idoine for The Mandalorian, “Chapter 13: The Jedi”
• Matthew Jensen, ASC for The Mandalorian, “Chapter 15: The Believer”
• Jas Shelton for Homecoming, “Giant”


Lucifer, “It Never Ends Well for the Chicken”

The Crown, “Imbroglio”

Two of Us

More Articles